A Message to Our Patients Regarding COVID-19
The protection of our patients, colleagues, and community is Suncoast’s top priority. We adhere by the CDC recommended guidelines and effective as of 3/1/2022 wearing a mask is optional for both staff and patients.
February 24, 2022
Florida Department of Health COVID-19 Guidance Recommendations
1) If you test positive for COVID-19 and are symptomatic:
o Stay home and away from others for five (5) days from the date your symptoms began.
o You can return to work on day 6 if you are fever-free for 24 hours and your symptoms
2) If you test positive for COVID-19 and are asymptomatic:
o Stay home and away from others for five (5) days from the date of your positive test.
o You can return to work on day 6 if you are fever-free for 24 hours and your symptoms, if
any develop, are improving.
o Day 0 = the date of a positive test if you are asymptomatic.
3) If you were exposed to someone who tested positive for COVID-19:
o If symptoms of COVID-19 develop, stay home.
o If asymptomatic, you do not need to quarantine, however, continue to monitor for
symptoms of COVID-19 for 10 days after exposure.
o Exposure = within 6 feet for more than 15 minutes within 24 hours.
Follow the guidance above if you test positive or have symptoms of COVID-19.
4) Unlike CDC guidance, this guidance does not rely on wearing facial coverings in a community
o There is not strong evidence that facial coverings reduce the transmission of respiratory
o Businesses are advised to no longer require facial coverings for employees, as there is
no proven significant clinical benefit for facial coverings among the general population.
5) This guidance does not preclude properly trained individuals, for example, nurses and
doctors, from using personal protective equipment when required by an employer,
notwithstanding Section 381.00317, Florida Statutes.